Converting from Secondary to Primary

I’ve been asked to lead a session for Secondary teachers who are moving into Primary teaching.

They have started the new term (Jan 2015) with their own primary classes, having only taught in Secondary schools in the past.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the tips that you would pass on, but thought I would post some of the things that I’ll be sharing here – just simple ideas – nothing too technical, these are the first things that came to my mind.

I’m also interested in hearing whether any of these ideas are used in Secondary schools and whether there really is a difference between the Primary and Secondary sectors, or is good teaching good teaching wherever you are?

I’ll add something new to the list each day until I run out of ideas!  (Click on the links for further info)

4 comments

  1. typingandthinking · January 5, 2015

    Interesting!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chorne21 · January 5, 2015

    I have just made the move from primary to secondary and the differences in what good practice is is astounding, the workload is different and so are the expectations. It is a massive leap but one thing is clear throughout both learning outcomes (objectives) are important and so is feedback in marking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • innovatecreateeducate · January 6, 2015

      Thanks for the comment. I’m interested to know if you think the expectations are greater in Secondary or Primary. Also, when you say the workload is different – what is the difference?

      Like

      • chorne21 · January 6, 2015

        I think the expectations in the children are higher in primary as the learning curve is more extreme.

        There is more emphasis on data and less on marking (although marking seems to be increasingly important but expectations still arent as much as primary). It seems odd to me as it has always been my marking which informed my data so i still mark a lot more than is expected.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

